# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Gorillaz - Demon Days

  by Anthony Strutt

published: 18 / 5 / 2005

Gorillaz - Demon Days
Label: Parlophone
Format: CD


Strong second album from Blur frontman Damon Albarn's side project Gorillaz, which proves tohave more spark and vibrancy to it than his regular band

This album went straight in at number one and it's easy to see why. Damon Albarn's side project is a lot more creative and forward thinking than his work with Blur, which now seems somewhat dated. The majority of 'Demon Days' was written by female guitarist Noodle. It is an urban album full of colour and mixed culture. It also features guest appearances from, to name just a few, De La Soul, Shaun Ryder, Ike Turner and Neneh Cherry. It was produced by Damon, Gorillaz and Danger Mouse. The 15 track album kick off with an intro, which features samples from George Romero's 'Dawn of the Dead'. '"Last Living Souls' sounds like Trio's 'Da, Da, Da' with its drum machine , but the rest of the music on it is more perky. 'Middle 8' is joined up with an acoustic break, which sounds likea stronger version of Blur. 'Kids with Guns' has a slow vocal from 2-D, Damon's alias in Gorillaz, who fronts a dubby bass. It sounds like an updated version of one of the songs from the Clash's first LP. 'O Green World' is dancey in an urban manner abd features some axe guitar, while 'Dirty Harry', is sung with a choir and sounds like a chant. It is very clubbish in style. 'Feels Good Inc', the first single, works well and has a dancey beat with a joint vocal between 2-D and Noodle giving it an urban feel. 'El Manana' is more chilled out and has a reflective vocal by 2-D, while 'Every Planet We Reach is Dead, is slow and dirge -like with a crawling vocal. 'November Has Come' has a black urban vocal, while a second 2-D vocal provides a lightweight groove. 'All Alone' is again very black in feel and has a charming female vocal. It builds up firmly to a dramatic ending. 'White Light' is a house number and has slow beats. 'Dare' is intelligent and danceable. 'Fire Coming Out of the Monkey's Head' features actor Dennis Hopper reading a story,. The music has dub beats and recalls Imagination's 'Body Talk'. Later 2-D's vocal joins the track and gives it a different direction. 'Don't Get Lost in Heaven' has a Beach Boys feel. The final title fades in with soft violins, and a gentle slow vocal before a choir joins in at the end.

Track Listing:-
1 Intro
2 Last Living Souls
3 Kids With Guns
4 O Green World
5 Dirty Harry
6 Feel Good Inc.
7 El Mañana
8 Every Planet We Reach Is Dead
9 November Has Come
10 All Alone
11 White Light
12 Dare
13 Fire Coming Out Of The Monkey's Head
14 Don't Get Lost In Heaven
15 Demon Days

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors