# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Paloma Faith - The Glorification of Sadness

  by Nick Dent-Robinson

published: 8 / 3 / 2024

Paloma Faith - The Glorification of Sadness
Label: RCA
Format: CD


Powerful, rock-influenced break-up album from Paloma Faith, which was inspired by the collapse of her nine-year relationship

Break-up albums have long been a popular feature of the music world. From Frank Sinatra's ‘Only The Lonely’ in 1958 through Fleetwood Mac's ‘Rumours’ to more recent releases from Amy Winehouse and Adele, sadness has always sold well. The latest artist to make a break-up record is Paloma Faith with her sixth album ‘The Glorification Of Sadness’ which follows the break-up two years ago of her nine year relationship with French-Algerian artist Leyman Lahcine, the father of her two young daughters. Paloma Faith, now 42, says the album celebrates her ability to bounce back - and the turmoil she has been enduring has certainly inspired some of the most passionate performances of her career. The LP has 14 songs plus three spoken-word interludes and it is very candid and powerful. Opening track ‘Sweatpants’ pinpoints day-to-day domestic reality as a passion killer. “Will you still love me when I'm crazy and undone?” she demands, continuing, “When my hair is up, and I've got my sweatpants on?”. The bitterness intensifies on ‘Bad Woman’.... “I hope you find perfection, but I know that'll never be me,” she moans sadly. The recent romantic trauma seems to have caused Paloma Faith to change style again, musically. In her early days, when Amy Winehouse was very dominant, fellow East Londoner Paloma sang retro-soul with some jazz-influences. Then, by 2017's chart-topping studio album ‘The Architect’, she was adding big, powerful ballads. Now, in ‘The Glorification Of Sadness’, Paloma is shifting again - towards a more forceful rock style, possibly inspired by her early days of fronting a traditional, loud rock band. On ‘Let It Ride’ she is backed by noisy guitars as she suggests a good night out as the best remedy for a messy break-up. And there's a great searing guitar solo on ‘How You Leave A Man’ which is a strident country-soul song plus more powerful guitar sounds on rock melodrama ‘Hate When You're Happy’. The climax of the album comes with ‘Already Broken’ where Paloma's faith in romance is tentatively restored. She may have endured recent unhappiness and turbulence emotionally - but with this impassioned break-up album Paloma Faith certainly reaffirms her credentials as a great musical performer.

Track Listing:-
1 Sweatpants
2 Pressure
3 God in a Dress
4 How You Leave A Man
5 There's Nothing More Human Than Failure
6 Bad Woman
7 Cry on the Dance Floor
8 Say My Name
9 Let it Ride
10 The Big Bang Ending
11 Eat Shit and Die
12 . Divorce
13 Hate When You're Happy
14 Enjoy Yourself
15 I am Enough
16 Mirror to Mirror
17 Already Broken

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Play in YouTube:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors