# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Bryan Ferry - Royal Albert Hall 2020

  by Nick Dent-Robinson

published: 7 / 4 / 2021

Bryan Ferry - Royal Albert Hall 2020
Label: Bryan Ferry
Format: CD


Excellent live album from Bryan Ferry, recorded at the Royal Albert Hall just before lockdown, all proceeds of which go to his touring musicians and road crew

The last full-capacity show at London's Royal Albert Hall (which celebrated its 150th birthday on 29 March this year) was in March 2020 – by Bryan Ferry and his band - Then lockdown followed! Ferry's two night gig at the world famous venue has now been commemorated on an excellent live album, 'Royal Albert Hall 2020' with all proceeds going to the singer's currently inactive touring musicians and road crew. The record is available through Ferry's website (www.bryanferry.com) as a CD (£15), double vinyl (£35) and digitally. It makes a good companion to his last year's album 'Live at the Royal Albert Hall 1974' which captured his first solo tour. The new release focuses heavily on classic Roxy Music material (12 out of 18 tracks) and Ferry has ensured no songs feature on both this and last year's album. Throughout, Ferry curates his Roxy legacy – a heady cocktail of art-rock, Fifties revivalism and kitsch Hollywood glamour – with a fine ear for detail plus respect. 'The Thrill Of It All' - one of three songs here from 1974's 'Country Life' album - is greeted by the live audience with enthusiastic applause before its driving grooves of sound drown out all crowd reaction. 'The Bogus Man' from 1973's 'For Your Pleasure' is a futuristic jazz-rock number that retains its power to surprise and delight almost five decades after it was first recorded. And Roxy's smoother later hits including 'Avalon', 'Same Old Scene' and 'Dance Away' all stand the test of time really well. There are also two Dylan covers, 'Don't Think Twice, It's All Right' and 'Make You Feel My Love' both featuring Ferry's tuneful harmonica - and Ferry delivers these songs as impressively as Bob Dylan himself. The album ends with songs from Roxy's golden age. 'Street Life' manages to achieve the quality of the studio original whilst 'Virginia Plain' adds a rocking finale and features more sophisticated backing vocals than the original version. Clearly time has not dimmed Ferry's style. His appeal is undiminished and 'Royal Albert Hall 2020' is a timely reminder of the great live gigs we've all been missing these last thirteen months. Ferry aims to hit the road again by 2022 – and that is something his many fans will be anticipating with relish!

Track Listing:-
1 The Thrill Of It All
2 You Can Dance
3 Pyjamarama
4 Out of the Blue
5 The Bogus Man
6 Casanova
7 Limbo
8 Just Like You
9 Same Old Scene
10 Hiroshima Mon Amour
11 Your Painted Smile
12 Don't Think Twice It's Alright
13 Make You Feel My Love
14 Dance Away
15 Avalon
16 Street Life
17 Virginia Plain
18 Editions of You

Band Links:-

Play in YouTube:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors