# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Tina Turner - Queen of Rock 'n' Roll

  by Nick Dent-Robinson

published: 19 / 1 / 2024

Tina Turner - Queen of Rock 'n' Roll
Label: Rhino
Format: CD Box


Irresistible, chronologically-ordered box set compilation of Tina Turner's solo work

This bumper compilation from Parlophone is released as a three-CD package (£15) and a five-LP vinyl box set (£112) with a more compact 12 song vinyl LP also available for £23. It is a comprehensive, chronological tribute to Tina Turner, who died in May. There is something irresistible about Tina's 1970s covers of classic rock standards: she really belts out The Who's ‘Acid Queen’ and brings a beseeching tone to Led Zeppelin's ‘Whole Lotta Love’ in a way that once had Jimmy Page shaking his head and saying in awe, “Now that really is the definitive version.....Just amazing!” In the 1980s, Tina Turner worked with Sheffield producer Martyn Ware (of Heaven 17) who was responsible for her excellent cover of Al Green's ‘Let's Stay Together’ which helped her become a successful solo star. And her recording of ‘What's Love Got To Do With It’ completely captured all Tina's incredible emotional power. Other highlights on this compilation are from later in her career and include the Trevor Horn-produced ‘Whatever You Want’ and ‘Missing You’ - both from 1996's “Wildest Dreams”. ‘Queen Of Rock'n'Roll’ is an impressive collection of Tina Turner's work - and a great reminder of just how powerful a force she was!

Track Listing:-
1 Whole Lotta Love (Single Edit)
2 Acid Queen
3 Root, Toot Undisputable Rock 'N' Roller
4 Viva La Money
5 Sometimes When We Touch
6 Music Keeps Me Dancin'
7 Let's Stay Together (Single Edit)
8 Help (Single Edit)
9 What's Love Got To Do With It
10 Better Be Good To Me (Single Edit)
11 Private Dancer (Single Edit)
12 I Can't Stand The Rain
13 Show Some Respect
14 We Don't Need Another Hero (Thunderdome)
15 One Of The Living
16 It's Only Love
17 Typical Male
18 Two People
19 What You Get Is What You See (Single Edit)
20 Girls
21 Break Every Rule (Single Mix)
22 Paradise Is Here (Radio Edit)
23 Afterglow (7" Mix)
24 Tearing Us Apart
25 Addicted To Love (Live In Europe)
26 A Change Is Gonna Come (Live In Europe)
27 Tonight (Live In Europe)
28 River Deep - Mountain High (Live In Europe)
29 The Best (Single Edit)
30 Steamy Windows
31 I Don't Wanna Lose You
32 Look Me In The Heart
33 Foreign Affair (Single Edit)
34 Be Tender With Me Baby
35 It Takes Two
36 Nutbush City Limits (The 90's Version)
37 Love Thing
38 Way Of The World
39 I Want You Near Me
40 I Don't Wanna Fight (Single Edit)
41 Disco Inferno
42 Why Must We Wait Until Tonight (7" Single Mix)
43 Proud Mary (Single Edit)
44 Goldeneye (Single Edit)
45 Whatever You Want (Alternative Mix)
46 On Silent Wings (Single Edit)
47 Missing You (Single Edit)
48 In Your Wildest Dreams (Radio Edit)
49 Cose Della Vita (Can't Stop Thinking Of You)
50 When The Heartache Is Over +5

Band Links:-

Play in YouTube:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors