# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Linda Gail Lewis - A Tribute to Jerry Lee Lewis

  by Lisa Torem

published: 3 / 7 / 2023

Linda Gail Lewis - A Tribute to Jerry Lee Lewis
Label: Cleopatra Records
Format: CD


Heartfelt tribute to her late brother, Jerry Lee Lewis, on new album from singer/pianist Linda Gail Lewis

Singer/pianist Linda Gail Lewis is back with a heartfelt tribute to her late brother, Jerry Lee Lewis, more commonly known as ‘The Killer’. This eighteen-song album, which will be available in a CD and digital format, and will be accompanied by an EP, containing a series of duets by Lewis’s late cousin, Mickey Gilly, will please rockabilly fans, rip-roaring instrumentalists and lovers of both heartbreaking and kick-ass lyrics. With Linda Gail Lewis is brimstone and fire guitarist/producer and her talented son-in-law Danny B. Harvey; daughter and vocalist in her own right, Annie Marie Lewis, and Slim Jim Phantom (Stray Cats). Another must-experience is the related video of the promotional single, ‘Down The Line,’ recorded at early Jerry Lee Lewis stomping ground, Sun Records, in Americana music town, Memphis, Tennessee. A first glance at the album cover speaks volumes about Lewis musical history. A formally-suited Jerry Lee looks up respectfully at the profile of a significantly younger Gail Lewis, who is elegantly coiffed and wearing a stylish, sleeveless dress. This depiction reminds us of how fresh and ambitious both artists were, when collaborating, and when firing-up on all pistons as ambitious supporters. According to a recent press release statement about Linda Gail Lewis: “She crafted an entire album of studio recordings that her brother made famous to not only celebrate the deep connection she shared with Jerry Lee Lewis but to also keep the memory of her brother alive.” These selections perfectly fit the bill and mirror that description. This team of seasoned professionals drive home the force and sincerity of these standards with no holds barred. There’s enough here to please every fan’s wish list. ‘I’ll Be Me’ is rife with salt-on-the rim storytelling. Lewis growls and commits to the theme. “If you see a funny face in your comic book, I’ll be looking for you,” she howls. Here, Slim Jim’s solo concisely hits the nail on the head. ‘Let’s Talk about Us’ comes alive with choral harmonies and a plea for romantic plain-speak. On the slower-tempo-ed ‘You Win Again,’ Gail Lewis broadcasts a tear-stained timbre. It’s easy to imagine country star Patsy Cline cheering her rejected friend on in a dimly lit saloon. Furthermore, Lewis’s precision on the keyboard recalls the poignance of a simpler era. Similarly, for ‘Crazy Arms,’ you’ll need a hanky. Gail Lewis casts herself in the role of the jilted, still vulnerable lover. The old-timey piano pleases, and Slim Jim purposefully defines the sonic boundaries. There’s the cover of Ben E. King’s ‘Stand By Me,’ which is given a whole, new treatment as a duet. Other duets: ‘Playboy’ and ‘Have I Told You Lately that I Love You’ also tug at the heart. ‘Wild One’ was a hit on Lewis’s album by the same name with folksinger/producer Robbie Fulks. Needless to say, she brings out the same energy we enjoyed in the past. ‘Lewis Boogie’ puts us back in the eye of the needle, when Jerry Lee outsold major American acts. Gail Lewis outdoes herself with her virtuosic solo. ‘Don’t The Girls All Get Prettier At Closing Time’ is another smash hit, with rousing, electric sizzle and impossible-to-stop kinetic energy. Along those same lines is the classic ‘Great Balls of Fire.’ On Jerry Lee Lewis’s brassy anthem, the rhythm section anticipates every vocal turn of phrase that his baby sister musters. Meanwhile, Lewis’s feverish chords and screaming glissandos bring to mind rock and roll’s most fantastical moments. ‘End of the Road’ may sound fatalistic, yet the story line shines with zeal and anticipation. “When you get here, we’re gonna rock some more,” pinky swears the feisty Louisiana-raised renegade. In essence, you will love Linda Gail Lewis’s tribute album to her legendary brother, Jerry Lee Lewis, and the soul-enriching memories that craftily unfold.

Track Listing:-
1 Whole Lotta Shakin' Going On
2 Rockin' My Life Away
3 High School Confidential
4 I'm On Fire
5 It'll Be Me
6 You Win Again
7 Great Balls Of Fire
8 Down The Line
9 Let's Talk About Us
10 Wild One
11 Crazy Arms
12 Lewis Boogie
13 End Of The Road
14 Stand By Me - Mickey Gilley feat Linda Gail Lewis
15 Playboy - Mickey Gilley feat Linda Gail Lewis
16 Candy Man - Mickey Gilley feat Linda Gail Lewis
17 Have I Told You Lately That I Love You - Mickey Gilley feat Linda Gail Lewis
18 Don't The Girls All Get Prettier At Closing Time - Mickey Gilley feat Linda Gail Lewis

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Play in YouTube:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors