# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Albion Christmas Band - All Are Safely Gathered In

  by Nick Dent-Robinson

published: 26 / 11 / 2022

Albion Christmas Band - All Are Safely Gathered In
Label: Talking Elephant
Format: Select Format


Enjoyable Christmas album from folk supergroup The Albion Christmas Band, which includes members of the Albion Band, Steeleye Span and Fairport Convention

Fans have waited six years for a new album from The Albion Christmas Band. The band's last album, ‘Magic Touch’ was released in 2016. But, finally, a new album has been completed and ‘All Are Safely Gathered In’ will be released in late November to coincide with the band's forthcoming seasonal tour. The title of the new record reflects the unusual way the band recorded the tracks. Unable to gather together in the traditional studio setting, the band arranged for Ashley Hutchings' son Blair Dunlop to record each band member's contribution individually in their respective homes. Dunlop then worked to collect together all the different elements and produce the new album. The Albion Christmas Band features the combined talents of Simon Nicol (founder member of Fairport Convention) on acoustic guitar and vocals, Kellie While (Albion Band), also on acoustic guitar and vocals, Simon Care (Edward II) on melodeons plus the band's undisputed leader, Ashley Hutchings (founder member of Fairport Convention and also Steeleye Span and Albion Band) on bass guitar and vocals. Special guests include Blair Dunlop (production plus acoustic and electric guitars and vocals), Ruth Angell (violins) and Holly Brandon (fiddle). The result is an impressive collection of traditional seasonal songs and tunes plus there are some inspired arrangements of several contemporary numbers as well as various new compositions by band members or other guest artists. Many aspects of the Christmas season are portrayed with many shades of emotion from humorous to melancholy and sadness to celebratory. Ashley Hutchings comments, “We have released a dozen albums before but this one is the best one yet! I believe some of the songs on this new record deserve to become classics!”. More details of the new album and this year's ‘The Albion Christmas Band Tour’ can be found at www.albionchristmas.co.

Track Listing:-
1 If I Were A Carpenter
2 We Won't Come Home Til Morning
3 Royal Are We
4 Royal Dog
5 Sam's Christmas Pudding
6 Christmas Wreath
7 The Wind
8 Coming Home To Me
9 All Are Safely Gathered In
10 Days Of Auld Lang Syne
11 The Whittlesey Straw Bear Tune / Birds A'building Molly Dance Tune
12 Joy To The World

Band Links:-

Play in YouTube:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors