# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Ashley Hutchings - More Songs From The Shows

  by Nick Dent-Robinson

published: 31 / 7 / 2022

Ashley Hutchings - More Songs From The Shows
Label: Talking Elephant
Format: CD


Autobiographical 100th album from prolific Fairport Covention member Ashley Hutchings

Septuagenarian London-born Ashley Hutchings has enjoyed a music career spanning six decades. He has worked with more than two hundred collaborators including Fairport Convention, Steeleye Span and the Albion band - and he has toured numerous countries. But he has no intention of taking a well-deserved break! Instead, in August he is releasing his 100th album - ‘More Songs From The Shows’. Four projects are represented on this new record - each spanning a variety of themes with a strong cast of performers. ‘From Psychedelia to Sonnets’ explores through song and spoken word how Ashley's career progressed from the heady days of 1967's Summer of Love through influences drawn from literature, theatre, classical music and dance. That pivotal summer of 1967 is documented on ‘The Beginnings of Fairport Convention’ through Ashley's personal memories and stories from that time. ‘Paradise and Thorns’ - Ashley's favourite section of the album, includes more songs and readings from his past and features Becky Mills and Blair Dunlop. And ‘Dylancentric’ is the official bootleg of a live concert performed at the 50th celebration event of the 1969 Isle of Wight Festival where Bob Dylan headlined. The band Hutchings put together reprise some of Dylan's most memorable songs - and this is Ashley's personal tribute to Dylan, a songwriter he has always greatly admired. The sheer variety and quality of Ashley's work on this new album is impressive. It is a reminder that, throughout his many years in music, he has always been creating, always inspiring. ‘More Songs From The Shows’ will, however, not be Ashley's last record! None of us should be surprised to learn that work is underway on album number 101 which, even now, is in the process of being recorded!

Track Listing:-
1 Welcome to the World
2 Want of Will
3 Pedalling Suffragettes
4 One-Eyed Owl
5 Song of Two Bridges
6 About Dawn
7 Bird on a Wire
8 Crazy Man Michael
9 I'll Be Your Baby Tonight
10 Lay Down Your Weary Tune
11 One of Us Must Know
12 Lost in the Haze
13 Brief Encounters
14 Devil May Care in Our Dancing Shoes
15 Thirty-Two Years and a Lifetime

Band Links:-

Play in YouTube:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors