Pennyblackmusic Presents: Heist & Idiot Son + The Volunteered & Simon Bromide

Headlining are Heist with support from Idiot Son , The Volunteered and Simon Bromide
Hosted at the Water Rats London, Saturday 10th September. Doors open 7:30; First band on at 7:45; Admission £10 on the door or £8 in advance from We got Tickets
Located at ....... Click here to view in Goggle Maps We look forward to seeing you on the night. For more information Click here

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


  by Dave Goodwin

published: 25 / 1 / 2021

Label: Cold Transmission Music
Format: CD


Dark and sinister but compelling 80's-influenced third album from Portugese trio IAMTHESHADOW

From the fascinating label Cold Transmissions comes one of the albums of the year in my humble opinion. 'Pitchblack' by Lisbon’s IAMTHESHADOW is an eight track 80’s dark wave masterpiece of gargantuan proportions. Think of every synth band you loved in the 1980s, and this is the result. Think Classix Nouveaux without the tight trousers. Think of Sparks of Ultravox dabbling in Joy Division's back catalogue. Think of A Flock of Seagulls sitting in a sinister nest of Visage lookalikes. IAMTHESHADOW is a musical project that was started in 2015 by the Portuguese musician Pedro Code (The Dream Collision and Rainy Days Factory). Their artistic influences are varied and navigate the blackest and sharpest sounds of the 80s. Labelled as modern dark romance, theirs is a world where melody and words touch deeply perpetuating the desire that crosses and overcomes fear. Joining Code on this venture into the black unknown are Vitor J Moriera on synth with Herr G on a Hook-like headworming bass. This is their third full outing following 'Everything in This Nothingness' and 'Embracing the Fall'. From the first track 'Lifeless' through to single of the year 'Shivers' to the back end of 'To Last', the dark, sinister world of IAMTHESHADOW has the listener sinking into a jar of thick tar where there is no escape, suffocating in his or her own self-indulgence. If you were brought up in the 1980s and synth and new romantic pop was your bag, then this will kill you. This is something else. This is the dark side of marvelous!

Track Listing:-
1 Lifeless
2 Always
3 Pitchblack
4 The Days
5 Higher Than The Soul
6 Awake & Asleep
7 Shivers
8 Ouroboros
9 Grace
10 Rise
11 To Last
12 Undress

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads


most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors