# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Dua Lipa - Future Nostalgia

  by Nick Dent-Robinson

published: 6 / 10 / 2020

Dua Lipa - Future Nostalgia
Label: Universal Music
Format: CD


Revamped version of second album from Dua Lipa which has been remixed with special guests to impressive effect

London-based Dua Lipa's ‘Future Nostalgia’ album has been one of the most successful releases of 2020. It was released at the start of lockdown and its mix of classic disco and modern dance guaranteed its popularity as a soundtrack to kitchen parties across the nation. The singer, however, felt the record had more potential than that. Dua Lipa has therefore linked up with London-resident American DJ Marea Stamper – also known as ‘The Blessed Madonna’ (not to be confused with mega-star Madonna who, as it happens, also puts in a “cameo” appearance on the revamped record). The aim was to remix the whole LP in a far more club-friendly way to create “an exhilarating, immediately and irresistibly exciting sound”. Well, Stamper has done a good job! She has reworked many tracks herself but has invited outside guests to add fresh layers to Lipa's tunes. The DJ also deploys samples from old hits like Neneh Cherry's ‘Buffalo Stance’ to weave the album together. Most of the revamps work very well. Mark Ronson ropes in Gwen Stefani who gives ‘Physical’ a surprising soul sound whilst The Killers producer Stuart Price brings a Pet Shop Boys feel to ‘That Kind of Woman’, sampling Stevie Nicks' solo number ‘Stand Back’ in the process. Madonna (the original one) appears alongside rapper Missy Elliott on a new and powerful version of ‘Levitating’. What Stamper (‘The Blessed Madonna’) achieves here is to maintain and in places enhance the feel-good spirit of an original record that some might have felt would be hard to improve on. When, one day, nightclubs are permitted to reopen, this remixed and new sounding album should truly come into its own. But, meanwhile, both Dua Lipa and Marea Stamper have declared themselves “truly happy” with the new work.

Track Listing:-
1 Future Nostalgia
2 Don't Start Now
3 Cool
4 Physical
5 Physical
6 Pretty Please
7 Hallucinate
8 Love Again
9 Break My Heart
10 Good In Bed
11 Boys Will Be Boys
12 Digital Booklet: Future Nostalgia

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors