# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Matthews Southern Comfort - The New MIne

  by Zena Grieg

published: 10 / 4 / 2020

Matthews Southern Comfort - The New MIne
Label: Mig Mus
Format: CD


Distinctive folk-rock/Americana on latest album from Matthews Southern Comfort, the band of former Fairport Convention vocalist Iain Matthews

It is five decades since singer/songwriter Iain Matthews, former lead vocalist with Fairport Convention, founded the band and hit number one in the UK with his million-selling version of Joni Mitchell’s ‘Woodstock.’ This latest collection shows that Matthews Southern Comfort continues to successfully master the ground between British folk-rock and Americana. The twelve tracks on this new album include a poignant, understated version of Joni Mitchell’s 1985 song ‘Ethiopia’, bringing a synergy to the cycle of Matthews’ music. In ‘The New Mine’ Matthews’ trademark reflectiveness and lyrical sharpness are perfectly complemented by the accomplished musicians who worked with him on the acclaimed ‘Like a Radio’ - Bart de Win on keyboard, Eric de Vries on acoustic guitar and vocals and Bart Jan Baartmans on guitars, mandolin, sitar, bouzouki, banjo and backing vocals. From the country vibe of ‘The Hands of Time’ and ‘C’mon Amigo’ to the lyrical warning about global warming in ‘The Hole’, ‘The New Mine’ abounds with strong, imaginative songs and rich instrumental virtuosity, backed by a polished production. This all adds up to an enjoyable, melodic album marking the latest stage in Matthews Southern Comfort’s distinctive sound.

Track Listing:-
1 Ethiopia
2 The Hands of Time
3 Feed It
4 Patty's Poetry
5 Working in the New Mine
6 Starvation Box
7 C'mon Amigo
8 The Hole
9 A Secret Is Gone
10 The Sacrificial Cow
11 Inbetween
12 In My Next Life

Band Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads


Like a Radio (2018)
Impressive latest album from country rock/folk outfit Matthews Southern Comfort, the project of former Fairport Convention member Iain Matthews

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors