# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Clannad - Turas 1980

  by Nick Dent-Robinson

published: 17 / 7 / 2018

Clannad - Turas 1980
Label: Mig Music
Format: CD X2


Long-lost twenty-song early live recording on two CD set from much-loved Irish folk group Clannad

'Turas 1980' is a newly released two disc set with twenty songs from Clannad – one of Ireland's best-known folk ensembles. The album was recorded by Radio Bremen, Germany during the band's sell-out 1980 concert tour but it was never broadcast and this recording of the material has not previously been released. Fascinatingly, the record captures Clannad at a pivotal moment of their career. They were already well respected on the Irish folk and traditional music scene and were on the cusp of achieving huge chart success which would see new audiences across several continents introduced to their unique brand of music. There would be film and television scores and over the coming decades they would win a cluster of Grammy, Bafta and Ivor Novello awards. But 'Turas 1980' provides a fresh insight into Clannad before they achieved all that international success. This was one of the last times Clannad played so pure and simple. As the BBC's Johnnie Walker has commented, “'Turas 1980' demonstrates Clannad's love of the traditional, their instrumental prowess and it also showcases the exquisite voice of Moya Brennan.” The band are from the spectacularly beautiful Donegal in North West Ireland and their music reflects the gentle majesty of that county. As their major long-time admirer Bono puts it, “They have distilled the rugged landscape and melancholy sky of their beloved Donegal into a music that could not be contained on any one island; and so they became a legend throughout the world.” The tapes of the Radio Bremen recording have only recently comer to light. “When we heard the recording of the concert we were nicely surprised,” comments Moya Brennan now. “We are all thrilled to have it released all these years later. The album is a lovely memory for us, taking us back to early Clannad. It speaks of the Donegal mountains and the Atlantic Ocean, the little harbours, sweeping beaches and sand dunes; it is the language in which stories are bold and secrets best told.” Turas 1980' is available from July 2018 on the MIG label in both CD and vin'yl formats.

Track Listing:-
1 Turas O'Carolan
2 Medley: An Crúiscín Lán / Cuach Mo Lon Dubh Buí
3 An Buinneán Buí
4 Máire Bhruinneall
5 An TOileán Úr
6 Crann Úll
7 Gathering Mushrooms
8 Medley: Paddy's Rambles Through The Fields / Tommy O Dea's Reel
9 Rince Philib A`Cheoil
10 Medley: Ar A Ghabháil'n A Chuan Domh / An Ghiobóg
11 Siúil A Rún
12 Valparaiso
13 Ó Bhean A'Tí
14 Hornpipes: The Fairies Hornpipe / Off To California
15 Down By The Salley Gardens
16 The Old Couple
17 Dúlamán
18 Teidhir Abhaile Riú
19 Two Sisters
20 Níl Sé'n Lá

Band Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads



Beginnings (The Best Of The Early Years) (2008)
Evocative double CD compilation of much acclaimed Gaelic folk rockers Clannad's early music

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors