# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Veils - Total Depravity

  by Tony Gaughan

published: 17 / 10 / 2016

Veils - Total Depravity
Label: Nettwerk Productions
Format: CD


Exceptional latest and fifth album from acclaimed alterative rock outfit, the Veils

This is the fifth studio album from the London-based band who are fronted by Finn Andrews, whose father Barry was a founding member of the much loved and respected XTC and Shriekback. Barry has also performed and recorded with the impressive collection of Bowie,Fripp and Iggy Pop among others. 'Total Depravity' has also been released on the Canadian label Nettwerk Productions which also features Admiral Fallow. 'Total Depravity', which has been produced by El-P ('Run the Jewels') and Adam 'Atom' Greenspan, is, as its title suggests, very dark and solemn, and its opener 'Axolotl', with its distorted vocal and driving bass, proves to be the perfect starter. After a fortunate meeting with EL- P outside an L.A. bar, he and the Veils very quickly hooked up to record this exceptional and arguably the best release so far from the cult indie rockers. 'Bit on the Side' is another example of greatness with some fine dual vocals from long-time bassist Sophia Burn providing the perfect foil for Finn's, and with a twanging guitar holding the whole track together beautifully. 'Low Lays the Devil' is the second of the singles to be lifted and, when listening to it, it is no real surprise that the band have provided music to esteemed film directors David Lynch and Tim Burton with the former announcing that Finn Andrews will feature in the 2017 'Twin Peaks'. This record was two years in the making and features a strange cast of characters including a psychotic truck driver, Pope John Paul and Ingrid Bergman. Other impressive tracks include the excellent 'Swimming with Crocodiles ,'Do Your Bones Glow at Night?' again with a dual vocal from Sophia and the self-titled closer with it's hypnotic synth and drum machine and almost Bowie-esque vocal. 'Total Depravity' is a real grower and should see the Veils deservedly soar to new heights.

Track Listing:-
1 Axolotl
2 A Bit on the Side
3 Low Lays the Devil
4 King of Chrome
5 Swimming with the Crocodiles
6 Here Come the Dead
7 In the Blood
8 Iodine & Iron
9 House of Spirits
10 Do Your Bones Glow at Night?
11 In the Nightfall
12 Total Depravity

Band Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors