# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Michael Feuerstack - The Forgettable Truth

  by Mark Rowland

published: 4 / 5 / 2015

Michael Feuerstack  - The Forgettable Truth
Label: Forward Music Group
Format: CD


Slow-paced but atmospheric third album under his own name from Canadian singer-songwriter, Michael Feuerstack

Michael Feuerstack is a long-standing presence in the Canadian indie scene, releasing nine albums as Snailhouse in the 90s and 00s, and recording under his own name since 2012. ‘The Forgettable Truth’ is the third Michael Feuerstack album, though as Snailhouse was essentially Feuerstack, you could argue it’s his12th. Musically, it sits in that semi-slowcore furrow ploughed by the likes of Smog and Low, albeit at the poppier end of the scale. Country-ish songs such as ‘Receiver’ sit comfortably alongside languid pop songs like ‘Lamplight’. Feuerstack channels Richard Hawley via Chris Brokaw on ‘Clackity Clack’, then goes post-punk on ‘The Devil’ ¬– seemingly the one song on the album to up the pace. Generally, however, ‘The Forgettable Truth’ keeps the pace slow and the music atmospheric in a lazy Sunday kind of way. ‘Blue Light’ is a particularly lovely song, with its lurching rhythm and simple melody that follows the guitar line.

Track Listing:-
1 Receiver
2 I Wanted More
3 Lamplight
4 We Walk By
5 Clickity Clack
6 The Devil
7 The Devil
8 Cemetery Trees
9 Mother Tongue
10 Glacier Love
11 Talking Blues
12 Blue Light
13 Monrovia

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads


most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors