# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

DRFNT - Metafiction

  by Maarten Schiethart

published: 1 / 11 / 2009

DRFNT - Metafiction
Label: On the Edge
Format: CD


Atmospheric and concise-sounding dubstep on debut album from the laid back, but mysterious DRFNT

'Metafiction' is a debut album and very much of a surprise; a fully fledged atmospheric dubstep album that doesn't go on and on. On top of that, one that does not end up entangled in rhythmic noodlings like so many dubstep efforts have done before. 'Metafiction' is the work of a laid back soul that has set out with a plan of his own. Different as the French would say, DFRNT ploughs his way, or her as we're still not sure, through the realms of intelligent jungle and loungy dubstep. The word meditation sums up the breezy backdrops and backbeats treasured on this debut. Not a single vocal sound can be found on 'Metafiction' - the album entirely consists of broken dubs that has sound effects all stamped and splashed all over it. 'Metafication' is très different from 2562, Goldie and alike. The deep groove from the bass hints at a background in trance but I remain uncertain as to DFRNT's exact previous whereabouts. Logic has it though, that DFRNT has been seen around before, either in house or trance. On 'Metafiction' the touch of a genuine master is all too apparent. I'm conspicuously eager to find out more. DFRNT might be the weird bloke from Jethro Tull, or maybe just some daft French or Belgian geezer, quite possibly even from Wales. This certain sense of mystery only adds up to DFRNT's sense of elegance and sophistication in dance music. 'Metafiction', to its very last moment, remains a mesmerizing listen.

Track Listing:-
1 Wake Up
2 The Warmest
3 Tripped
4 Therapy
5 Landscapes
6 Epitome
7 The Next Step
8 Dark Jazz
9 Aftermath
10 Winter
11 Decay
12 Headspace
13 Lounge
14 Sound Asleep
15 An Early Place
16 On The Move
17 Pressure Drop
18 Throwback
19 Therapy (Quantec Remix)
20 Tripped (Synkro Remix)
21 Dark Jazz (DJ Madd's Darker Remix)
22 Tripped (Ital Tek Remix)
23 Headspace (Scuba Remix)

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors