# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Roger Miret And The Disasters - My Riot

  by Alex Halls

published: 4 / 12 / 2006

Roger Miret And The Disasters - My Riot
Label: Sailor's Grave
Format: CD


Hit and miss rock 'n' roll inspired third album from former Agnostic Front frontman, Roger Miret and his latest band the Disasters

Former Agnostic Front frontman, Roger Miret, and his Disasters deliver up a further helping of the now familiar Miret street punk sounds with 'My Riot', an album that is more rock ‘n’ roll than previous Roger Miret releases and avoids similarities to Agnostic Front. Sixteen tracks adorn this, the band’s third release since their self-titled debut four years back and '1984', released last year. Opening track 'Warning! Warning!' is indicative of the general sound of the album; upbeat and uncomplicated, but sometimes lacking imagination, such as in the repetition of its title. Released on Sailor’s Grave records, the band having previously been on Hellcat, 'My Riot' includes guest vocals from Lars Frederiksen, on 'Roots Rockin’ Roll' and Nekromantix / Horrorpops couple, Kim Nekroman and Patricia Day. These additional vocals bring an interesting touch to the album, contrasting with Miret’s distinctive voice, which can become tiring if left on its own for a while. By introducing a devoted song, "Ramones', to the legendary punk band, it is clear where Miret’s influences come from. In fact, the album has vague hints of the said influence, coming through in the choruses and some of the guitaring. Further influence comes from Miret’s home city. Focusing on New York City in some of the early tracks, it is noticeable from where its street sound is produced. And it is perhaps due to this iconic city that Miret is able to vary the sound on this release by inviting the Slackers’ Vic Ruggiero to join on piano, an instrument often overlooked in punk and its derivatives, which otherwise gives a classier, jazzier edge. Mid-album track, 'Everything I Do', is reminiscent of an Irish ballad, more usually performed by bands like Flogging Molly, even if there is nothing particularly Irish about it at all in this case. Miret’s voice here is complex, even a little cunning, and it can take some time to adjust to. A little further in and the short, real punk track, and delightfully named, 'FXXK You', hits with venom. This is one of those highly-charged numbers that has the ability to send the crowd wild. Its place on 'My Riot' is welcome, even if the title has undergone an unexplained censorship. Whilst the album shows moments of real effectiveness, it lets itself down too, especially in irritating tracks like 'Noho Soho' and the poor chorus in 'Once Were Warriors'. Some quite uninspiring lyrics further this, and even when Miret spreads the word about punk unity, it doesn’t feel original way in any captivating way. It’s not that we’ve come to expect more from Roger Miret and the Disasters, as the potential seems to be dragged album to album, never particularly allowing one to shine. There’s something really disappointing in this and not hard to forget over time. Wrapping the album up with a reggae re-mix of track six, 'Janie and Johnny', including vocals from New-York ska master King Django, Miret’s latest offering comes to a moderately successful close. Never having truly warmed to Roger Miret’s style, much like the rest of the punk community, records are brought back to the record player from time to time. 'My Riot' goes no further than previous release '1984' in breaking the punk music industry. Too often it remains flat, but then at other times it livens up magically: a mixed message for a rather mixed album.

Track Listing:-
1 Warning! Warning!
2 Roots Rockn' Roll
3 My Riot!
4 Noho Soho
5 Ramones
6 Janie And Johnny
7 Everything I Do
8 Once Were Warriors
9 Straightjacket
10 Fxxk You
11 R.F.F.R
12 Pride
13 Emily
14 Another Generation
15 TV News
16 Runaway Reggae Remix
18 My Riot

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors