# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Broadcast - The Future Crayon

  by Dixie Ernill

published: 21 / 8 / 2006

Broadcast - The Future Crayon
Label: Select Label
Format: CD


Largely instrumental 18 track compilation of EP B-sides and other obscurities from much acclaimed Birmingham-based electro-pop act Broadcast, which will appeal strictly to completist and fans of the band's more experimental side

Broadcast are responsible for one of my favourite ever songs, the dreamy 'Come On Let’s Go' and as such will forever have a place in my heart and my record collection. This 18 track compilation of EP B-sides and other obscurities is, however, probably strictly for completists or fans of the band’s more experimental side. That said, it isn’t without merit and there are some high points amongst the instrumental cinematic soundscapes which dominate the album and that aren’t completely to my taste. 'Illumination' has sufficient pop hooks to sit snugly at an adjacent table to 'Come On Let’s Go' and 'Where Youth And Laughter Go' has a quirky charm. Elsewhere, if the incidental background music to obscure European films floats your boat, then buy this album, but if you prefer the enchanting vocals that delightful singer Trish Keenan is so expert at delivering, then buy up any of the band's other LPs before this one.

Track Listing:-
1 Illumination
2 Still Feels Like Tears
3 Small Song IV
4 Where Youth And Laughter Go
5 One Hour Empire
6 Distant Call
7 Poem Of Dead Song
8 Hammer Without A Master
9 Locusts
10 Chord Simple
11 Daves Dream
12 DDL
13 Test Area
14 Unchanging Window / Chord Simple
15 A Man For Atlantis
16 Minus Two
17 Violent Playground
18 Belly Dance

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors