# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Various - They'll Have To Catch Us First

  by Mark Rowland

published: 16 / 4 / 2006

Various - They'll Have To Catch Us First
Label: Select Label
Format: CD


Eclectic budget-priced 10th anniversary compilation from the Domino label, which features tracks from 14 of the bands currently on their roster

Domino Records has gone from strength to strength in recent years, with Franz Ferdinand and Arctic Monkeys topping the charts and cementing the label's reputation as one of the biggest and hippest (in a mainstream sort of way) indie label in the UK. To celebrate their tenth anniversary, Domino has released ‘They’ll Have to Catch Us First’ a budget compilation featuring tracks from 14 of their recent releases. The Monkeys are conspicuous in their absence, but there are still plenty of great tracks on here. Archie Bronson Outfit’s ‘Dart For My Sweetheart’, Sons and Daughters’ ‘Taste the Last Girl’ and ‘It’s Getting Light Outside’ by Clearlake are particular highlights, as are the folktronica tracks by Adem, Four Tet and Tortoise with Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy. Only Test Icicles contribution is particularly weak, but that’s more to do with the general quality of the band rather than the choice of song itself.

Track Listing:-
1 Psapp- King Of You
2 Adem- You And Moon
3 Franz Ferdinand- L. Wells
4 The Kills- Love Is A Deserter
5 Archie Bronson Outfit- Dart For My Sweetheart
6 Sons And Daughters- Taste The Last Girl
7 Test Icicles- Circle Square Triangle
8 Clearlake- It's Getting Light Outside
9 Quasi- Love And Peace
10 Tortoise And Bonnie 'Prince' Billy- Daniel
11 Four Tet- A Joy
12 The Television Personalities- My Dark Places
13 Junior Boys- Like A Child
14 Juana Molina- La Verdád

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors