# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Mike Badger And Friends - Lo-fi Excursions

  by Maarten Schiethart

published: 28 / 3 / 2006

Mike Badger And Friends - Lo-fi Excursions
Label: Select Label
Format: CD


Fine compilation of solo and self-released recordings from former La's member Mike Badger

Formerly of The La's, Mike Badger continues to record and release music for his own Generic label. The follow-up to 'Acoustic Excursions' is the superior 'Lo-Fi Electric Excursions'. It's a compilation of little jewels from the recent past. Excursions in to Northern dub builds the biggest surprise here. There's a fantastic sense of suspense on 'Painting Dub' from 1985 with a fabulous twang echoing over a menacing rhythm. The CD features a couple of bluesy live tracks from 'The Onset' plus tracks from 'The Kachinas'. 'Take Effect' is a magic track but it's those Badger's licks that save those Kachinas from oblivion.Badger's such a great guitarist. More in the vein of 'Painting Dub'on 'Shadow Dub' with extra riffs to clash with the drum and bass as I zigzag through the tracks. 'Lo-Fi Electric Excursions' does the same; putting some crystal clear pop against spirited yet low-key recorded session out takes and live recordings. I nearly forgot about this CD. The unremarkable cover and basic type of CD title don't do justice to what seems a random choice, but it is a fine listen.

Track Listing:-
1 2022 Blues
2 It's True
3 Save Me
4 South End Hoedown
5 Cool Water
6 Sacramento
7 Lovin' On Our Side
8 Intermission
9 No Bitterness Holds Sweetness
10 Walking Tall (On The Beat BBC Radio Session)
11 Autumn In The Mind (Acoustic Version)
12 Water Tiger
13 Dig It
14 Life Story (Radio Take for Loch Broom FM)

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors