# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Gledhill - Remain

  by Jonjo McNeill

published: 23 / 12 / 2005

Gledhill - Remain
Label: Mx3 Records
Format: CDS


Fantastic debut single, which brings back memories of New Order and the Smiths, from new Sheffield act Gledhill

Sheffield has been kicking out quality bands for years, and has a pedigree of industrial sounds. Gledhill are the latest pretenders to the South Yorkshire Rock crown, and here’s their first single ‘Remain’. Produced by Oasis knob-twiddler Owen Morris, this brings back memories of New Order and the Smiths. Singer David Gledhill has a classic indie/rock voice, pitched between Phil Oakey, Jim Kerr and (perhaps bizarrely, almost certainly unwittingly) Mansun’s Paul Draper. Big guitars jostle with electro drums in a feedback-drenched song based around a perfect sentiment: ‘There’ll be time for love / There’ll be time for us / When everybody else has gone / Eveything has changed’. It’s a massive chorus, with emotionally tuned dynamics and driving rhythms. A fantastic first release from an excellent band, ‘Remain’ shows that Gledhill could well be the new Oasis given time, and very worthy of it they are too.

Track Listing:-
1 Remain
2 To The Very Heart Of The City (Demo)

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors