# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Simple Plan - Still Not Getting Any

  by Alex Halls

published: 9 / 2 / 2005

Simple Plan - Still Not Getting Any
Label: Lava
Format: CD


Second album from Montreal bestelling act Simple Plan, which "reinforces the band’s commitment to indulgent, catchy, pop-edged punk rock"

Having burst onto the scene in 2002 with their debut album 'No Pads, No Helmets, Just Balls', Montreal’s Simple Plan finally return with 'Still Not Getting Any', an album that takes off from where its predecessor departed and reinforces the band’s commitment to indulgent, catchy, pop-edged punk rock. It was in fact a Nofx/Face to Face concert that gave the inspiration behind Simple Plan’s music, due to the accessibility to youth of the punk scene and the lack of façade, away from other, more pretentious, scenes that give little chance to growing talent. Simple Plan consists of Pierre Bouvier (vocals), Chuck Comeau (Drums), David Desrosiers (Bass, Vocals), Sebastien Lefebvre (Guitar, Vocals), and Jeff Stinco (Guitar). The quintet has been on the Vans Warped Tour for the last 3 years, an accolade in itself if you put the near 2 million debut American album sales aside for a moment. These successes have no doubt contributed to the addition of Bob Rock (Metallica’s ‘Black Album’, Motley Crue’s ‘Doctor Feelgood’) as album producer this time round. 'Still Not Getting Any' includes the bouncy tracks 'Shut Up and Jump 'before the album flows into the middle section and then unexpectedly moves into a heart-rending finale of 'One' and 'Untitled', using both the beauty of violins and piano to convey additional emotion. It also digs at society’s obsession with vanity in 'Crazy' whilst addressing as many contemporary issues, including cosmetic surgery, as established foibles of man’s insecurity. What Simple Plan do create is perfect for American teen movies, for it reignites the long-forgotten passions of youth and enables one to relive those adolescent memories, both good and bad. It does, at the same time, introduce an age-cap of perhaps not much more than twenty-five onto the album, which will not disappoint from a marketing point of view but will certainly decrease the longevity of 'Still Not Getting Any'. Notwithstanding, the album appears to be a natural progression from 'No Pads' and will certainly re-enchant the Simple Plan faithful as well as pulling more fans aboard. Simple Plan further carries the optimism of youth in 'One' where Bouvier states "‘the future is in our hands" but at the same time realises the limitations of this in 'Perfect World' where it is presented that although we might like to think we have some bearing on the course of relationships, we may not always have control over the emotions of the other party. Expect no fancy guitaring or stand-out musical technique on the majority of this album but brace yourself for a whirlwind adventure of heart-felt vocals and some of the catchiest riffs since Simple Plan’s last release. It is nigh on impossible to see past the infectious melodies and it may even be foolish to attempt such a feat. 'Still Not Getting Any' loses none of the magic so evident in 'No Pads'; magic that established Simple Plan as a recognisable force in music rather than just a bunch of kids with ambition.

Track Listing:-
1 Shut Up!
2 Welcome to My Life
3 Perfect World
4 Thank You
5 Me Against the World
6 Crazy
7 Jump
8 Everytime
9 Promise
10 One
11 Untitled (How Could This Happen to Me?)
12 Welcome to My Life (Live from Japan)
13 Perfect (Acoustic Version)

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors