# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Death By Stereo - Into The Valley Of Death

  by Alex Halls

published: 3 / 9 / 2003

Death By Stereo - Into The Valley Of Death
Label: Select Label
Format: CD


Occasionally repetitive, but constantly "sharp" and "melodic" hardcore from Southern California rockers, Death in Stereo, back with a third album

Death By Stereo have continuously been evolving since their conception in 1998. Based in South California, the five-piece are captivating live. Verging on Metal at times, their sound is difficult to define; it is better classified as melodic hardcore. Their third album, 'Into The Valley Of Death', follows the much-acclaimed 'If Looks Could Kill, I’d Watch You Die' debut and 'Day Of The Death', and sees a linear progression towards fame and fortune. The new album is launched by 'The Plague', a track which engulfs the sensory organs in much the same way as a virus spreading through the body. It commences dissonantly before its full intensity hits at volume. The rampage continues in tracks like 'Shh, It’ll Be Our Little Secret' and the short track 'Good Morning America'. The album feels a little repetitive at times but it contains valuable material throughout. Having refined the album a great deal, it may have lost that rough edge that Death By Stereo were all about. The album is sharp, melodic and breathes life through every sound. It may fail to capture those unsure of this genre but for those souls who are fortunate to be involved in this scene, 'Into The Valley Of Death' comes as a ray of light. There are few decent bands that dare tread this musical path but those who do must be fully credited. Death By Stereo are imaginative and have shaped an album worthy of the Epitaph label. With some amusingly named songs such as 'I Wouldn’t Piss In Your Ear If Your Brain Was On Fire', the band have kept that mixture of joviality and aggression upon which they were formed. Death By Stereo are: Efrem Schulz (Vocals), Paul Miner (Bass), Dan Palmer (Guitar), Tito (Guitar) and Todd Hennig (Drums).

Track Listing:-
1 The Plague
2 Beyond The Blinders
3 Wasted Words
4 I Wouldn't Piss In Your Ear If Your Brain Was On Fire
5 Shh, It'll Be Our Little Secret
6 What I Can't Hear, Touch, Taste, Or Smell Can't Hurt Me
7 Unstoppable
8 Let Down And Alone
9 These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things
10 Good Morning America
11 Flag Day
12 You're A Bullshit Salesman With A Mouthful Of Samples
13 Wake Up, You're Dead

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors