# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

David Crosby and The Lighthouse Band - Live at the Capitol Theatre

  by Nick Dent-Robinson

published: 20 / 3 / 2023

David Crosby and The Lighthouse Band - Live at the Capitol Theatre
Label: BMG
Format: CD


Excellent live album recorded in New York from the late David Crosby and his final group The Lighthouse Band

David Crosby enjoyed a late period renaissance. As a founding member of The Byrds as well as Crosby, Stills & Nash, Crosby was a key presence in the hippy counterculture that flourished in LA's Laurel Canyon some five decades ago. He recovered from major heart surgery in 2014 – but Crosby, who was 81 when he died in January, did not retreat quietly into his later years! He started a new group with what he called “three youngish weirdos” and retained a refreshing “can-do” attitude, busily writing and performing new melodic songs with The Lighthouse Band since they got together in 2016. What Crosby called his “Lighthouse family” comprised bassist Michael League, keyboardist Michelle Willis and jazz-trained guitarist Becca Stevens – who combined brilliantly to augment Crosby's acoustic guitar and singing. This live CD and DVD was recorded in the Capitol Theatre in the New York suburbs – and it is a delight, with all four skilled musicians collaborating and trading gentle harmonies and lead lines perfectly. Most tracks are recent material but there are some Crosby classics too - including 1969's ‘Guinnevere’ which is dedicated to Crosby's late wife, Jan, plus ‘Deja Vu”’from 1970 which has been extended to ten minutes with a period-relevant electric piano solo by Michelle Willis. There's also a cheerful cover of Joni Mitchell's ‘Woodstock’ that reaffirms Crosby's determination to keep looking on the bright side. With its beautiful harmonies and masterful musicianship, ‘Live at the Capitol Theatre’ is definitely among the strongest of the many recently released live albums.

Track Listing:-
1 The Us Below
2 Things We Do for Love
3 1974
4 Vagrants of Venice
5 Regina
6 Laughing
7 What Are Their Names
8 By the Light of Common Day
9 Glory
10 The City
11 Look in Their Eyes
12 Guinnevere
13 Janet
14 Carry Me
15 Deja Vu
16 Woodstock

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Play in YouTube:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors