# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Palace Fires - Palace Fires

  by Anthony Strutt

published: 4 / 4 / 2011

Palace Fires - Palace Fires
Label: Bespoke Records
Format: CD


Long-awaited, but magical debut album from London-based indie rock four-piece, Palace Fires

This self-titled debut album from Palace Fires was recorded between 2007 and 2009. The band consists of Mike Buchanan on bass, Ed Bannard of alt-folk combo Hymnn and former members of both Spin and Gene, Steve Mason on guitar and Matt James on drums. After Gene split, Steve ran for a while an indie club in Holborn in London called Rendition, which has now become a strip club. Ed played there and Steve was impressed with this Nottingham-based singer. They discovered that they were able to work well together at giving Ed’s songs more scope and Palace Fires was born. To date, they have released two seven inch single singles as well as a download single. They toured a lot and even lost their album at one stage as the laptop which held all their recordings was stolen. ‘Nothing Comes Close’ opens the album. It features a deep-sounding and strummed acoustic guitar, while Ed’s vocals are strong and commanding. The drums and lead guitar add to what is already masterful material. It is a song to pass away the troubles of the day with. ‘Caught in the Shadows’ has you almost immediately swaying away. Like those of the young Tim Buckley, Ed’s vocals hit the high notes with no trouble at all.‘Fear of Falling’ is again very catchy with Ed’s acoustic guitar and Steve’s electric guitar blending together perfectly. ‘Stay Low’ is faster with jangly guitar from Steve, perfect backing harmonies and a sweeping tune. ‘Reason’ is a mild rocker which is as bittersweet as life can be at times. ‘Sunkissed Sky’ is a classic from the start. Originally a solo number by Ed, his vocal here is as strong as that of Nick Drake or early Nick Garrie. As it progresses, it becomes louder and more anthemic. ‘Start the Fire’ is harder in sound, quite rocky and features another catchy riff. ‘She Wakes With the Birds’ is a morning song, very fast and one that makes you feel very much alive. On ‘You My Love’ Ed’s vocal is as a golden as Kinks-era Ray Davies, while ‘Peace Be With You’ recollects Nick Drake with its gentle guitar and Ed’s fragile singing. ‘Lay Me Down’ features jangling guitar from Steve, sharp vocals from Ed, pitter-pattering drums from Matt while Mike’s bass is perky in sound and ends a perfect record in a fine way. 'Palace Fires' has been well worth its long wait and is an absolutely magical album.

Track Listing:-
1 Nothing Comes Close
2 Caught In The Shadows
3 Fear Of Falling
4 Stay Low
5 Reason
6 Sunkissed Sky
7 Start The Fire
8 She Wakes With The Birds
9 You My Love
10 Peace Be With You
11 Lay Me Down

Visitor Comments:-
747 Posted By: Shaun, Cornwall on 04 Apr 2015
Love this album always wanted another, but I think they have split

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit


Interview Part 1 (2006)
Palace Fires - Interview Part 1
Palace Fires is the new band of former Gene stars Steve Mason and Matt James. In the first part of a two part interview, Anthony Strutt talks to the band about its formation and their first two singles

digital downloads


Fear of Falling (2008)
Catchy third single from London-based indie rock act, Palace Fires
Never Gonna Get Away/Lonely Fires (2006)
Nothing Comes Close (2006)

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors