Pennyblackmusic Presents: Heist & Idiot Son + The Volunteered & Simon Bromide

Headlining are Heist with support from Idiot Son , The Volunteered and Simon Bromide
Hosted at the Water Rats London, Saturday 10th September. Doors open 7:30; First band on at 7:45; Admission £10 on the door or £8 in advance from We got Tickets
Located at ....... Click here to view in Goggle Maps We look forward to seeing you on the night. For more information Click here

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Norah Jones - Not Too Late

  by Anthony Strutt

published: 24 / 1 / 2007

Norah Jones - Not Too Late
Label: Blue Note
Format: CD


Fine third album of elegant and soft easy listening rock from the bestselling Norah Jones

'Not Too Late' is the third album from Norah Jones and follows on from the masssive success of her bestselling first two albums, 'Come Away With Me' (2002) and 'Feels Like Home' (2004). 'Not Too Late' offers more of the same elegant and soft easy listening rock as its two predecessors, and, like both of those albums, consists mainly of material co-written by Jones with bass player Lee Alexander. Opening track, 'Wish I Could', is a smooth, solo acoustic number. 'Sinkin' Soon'has a bootleg whisky 1920's feel and a restrained trumpet solo. It was co-written by and also features M Ward. 'The Sun Doesn't Like You' is cool and laid back with some jazz and folk influences. 'Until the End' and 'Not My friend' are both very smooth indeed. The introduction of the latter recalls early Love. 'Thinking About You', which was written back in 1999, meanwhile has a light jazz feel. 'Broken' offers more smoothness and elegance, while 'My Dear Country'is a sad country ballad. 'Wake Me Up' is another acoustic number. while 'Be My Someone' is an easy listening track with some pleasant lead guitar. 'Little Room' is very folky and features a lovely little whistle solo. 'Rosie's Lullaby' is another elegant, female singer songwriter number, while 'Not Too Late', which ends the album, is a fine piano based ballad. This is a fine album, six songs of which were written on Jones' last tour.

Track Listing:-
1 Wish I Could
2 Sinkin' Soon
3 The Sun Doesn't Like You
4 Until The End
5 Not My Friend
6 Thinking About You
7 Broken
8 My Dear Country
9 Wake Me Up
10 Be My Somebody
11 Little Room
12 Rosie's Lullaby
13 Not Too Late

Band Links:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads



Come Away With Me: 20th Anniversary Edition (2022)
Fantastic 20th anniversary reissue of Norah Jones' sublime surprise hit debut album. 'Come Away With Me'
I Dream of Christmas (2021)

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors