Ella Henderson - Everything I Didn't Say

  by Zena Grieg

published: 12 / 4 / 2022

Ella Henderson - Everything I Didn't Say

Label: Atlantic
Format: CD
Confident but thought-provoking and bluntly honest second album and first in eight years from singer-songwriter Ella Henderson


After an eight-year hiatus the British singer-songwriter Ella Henderson has returned with a comeback album, her second, chronicling an at times tumultuous journey from teenage stardom to adulthood. ‘Everything I Didn’t Say’ is an expressive pop album with elements of soul and country, resonating with vulnerability, themes ranging from mental health issues and broken relationships to love and self-worth and renewal: “Everything is on here: the good, the bad, the ugly, my personal insecurities, relationships, my friends, break-ups,” Ella says. Songs to look out for in this 16-track collection include: the catchy opener ‘Emotions’ with its straightforward lyrics: “…I know now that if things don’t change/I’m gon’ be broken and so out of place/But for now, I’ll accept it’s okay not to be okay”; the retro disco track ‘What About Us?’; ‘Ugly’ about body shaming and online abuse, with its hard-hitting lyrics: “Too thin, too small/Monday, don’t fit in my jeans, stretch marks/Dark circles under my eyes/But no one wants to hear about that/I’m sick of putting labels on myself”; the upbeat, melodious hit ‘Let’s Go Home Together’, a duet with Tom Grennan; the single, the emotive and powerful ‘Brave’ about overcoming the stigma of needing help; the ballad ‘Cry On Me’, a collaboration with American singer Mikky Ekko; the uptempo ‘Good ThingsTake Time’; and the gentle, stripped-back love song ‘ Northern Lights’. An album dealing with “real life” issues in a fresh and honest way, ‘Everything I Didn’t Say’ marks a confident return for this talented musician, ahead of a UK-wide tour.

Track Listing:-

1 Emotions
2 What About Us
3 Ugly
4 Let's Go Home Together
5 Brave
6 Out My Head
7 Thank You for the Hell
8 Sorry That I Miss You
9 Everything I Didn't Say
10 Bad News
11 Cry On Me
12 Good Things Take Time
13 Northern Lights
14 Set in Stone
15 Body
16 Places

Band Links:-


Play in YouTube:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

Check box to submit

Digital Downloads


Most Viewed Articles

Most Viewed Reviews