Coheed and Cambria - No World for Tomorrow

  by Daniel Cressey

published: 8 / 1 / 2008

Coheed and Cambria - No World for Tomorrow

Label: Columbia
Format: CD
Cliched and eventually tedious fourth album from emo act Coheed and Cambria who have dedicated each of their albums to a massive space-opera


While some band may have come up with concept albums, dedicating every one of your albums to a massive space-opera takes some beating in terms of ambition. So the latest musical instalment of Coheed and Cambria’s ongoing science fiction storytelling – currently spread over four albums including this one – will probably make little sense to those who haven’t been keeping up with the tale. As I’m one of these people songs about ‘The Fall of House Atlantic’ and the like don’t mean very much to me. You can, however, try and take the songs as they come as well and this can prove a pleasant way to while away a half an hour or so. After this though Claudio Sanches’s vocals can start to grate and the band’s dalliances with emo cliché can start to overpower the more enjoyable aspects of their Iron Maiden-esqe rock posturing. Title track ‘No World For Tomorrow’ – with its full-on rock riffs and “bye-bye world” sentiments – matches the album sleeve’s apocalyptic horror-fantasy drawings and provides a fun, albeit rather mindless, five minute distraction. Even when on ‘Feathers’ Coheed and Cambria are showing their heart-on-sleeve version of a ballad the tunefulness carries it comfortably through the mawkishness. Despite these changes of direction though, ‘No World For Tomorrow’ doesn’t hold the attention for long enough to be more than an interesting concept with some good songs and a bit too much filler.

Track Listing:-

1 The Reaping
2 No World for Tomorrow
3 The Hound (of Blood and Rank)
4 Feathers
5 The Running Free
6 Mother Superior
7 Gravemakers & Gunslingers
8 Justice in Murder
9 I - The Fall of House Atlantic
10 II - Radio Bye Bye
11 III - The End Complete
12 IV - The Road and the Damned
13 V - On the Brink

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

Check box to submit