Self Esteem - Prioritise Pleasure

  by Zena Grieg

published: 8 / 12 / 2021

Self Esteem - Prioritise Pleasure

Label: Fiction Records
Format: CD
Unflinchingly honest and bittersweet second akbum from Self Esteem, the nom de plume for Yorkshire-based experimental musician Rebecca Taylor


Formerly half of the Yorkshire indie-folk duo ‘Slow Club’, Rebecca Taylor aka Self-Esteem, has launched her second album ‘Prioritise Pleasure’, produced by the Swedish producer Johan Hugo Karlberg (of Afro-pop fusion duo ‘The Very Best’) . Written during the pandemic at her parents’ home in Yorkshire, the album deals with difficult topics; failure in love, angst, misogyny - all with an unflinching honesty and a bittersweet humour and self-awareness. Describing the thirteen-track collection as a “strong and unapologetic statement of intent,” Rebecca said: ”My quest is to try and make music that is widescreen and cinematic… big!”. Stand-out tracks include: the opener, the electronic pop number ‘I’m Fine,’ with its spoken-word snippet from a National Youth Theatre workshop she was involved in on consent, addressing the anxieties of women walking home: “There is nothing that terrifies a man more than a woman who appears completely deranged”; the catchy pop song ‘Fucking Wizardry;’ the title track and video with its driving drumbeat and assertive chorus: “Prioritise pleasuring me/No need to wait for bended knee/I’m free”; the funk-driven ’Moody’ with its self-deprecating humour: “Sexting you at the mental health talk seems counterproductive/Drinking a bottle instead of a glass is me, I’m a classic”; the empowering ‘The 345’ with its words of encouragement: “I just want to let you know there’s a point in you…/We made it this far/Might as well carry on/Don’t have to stick to a plan/Just living”; and the plaintive closer ‘Just Kids’ building to an emotional crescendo. Cathartic, funny, reflective, inspirational, ‘Prioritise Pleasure’ is a confident follow-up on Self Esteem's debut album with music and lyrics that will resonate for an even wider audience.

Track Listing:-

1 I'm Fine
2 Fucking Wizardry
3 Hobbies 2
4 Prioritise Pleasure
5 I Do This All The Time
6 Moody
7 Still Reigning
8 How Can I Help You
9 It's Been A While
10 The 345
11 John Elton
12 You Forever
13 Just Kids

Band Links:-

Play in YouTube:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

Check box to submit

Digital Downloads



Your Wife EP (2018)
Rebecca Taylor’s Self Esteem debut EP is an empowering letter of resignation on behalf of all side chicks everywhere

Most Viewed Articles

Most Viewed Reviews