Rick Shea - Love and Desperation

  by Keith How

published: 8 / 3 / 2021

Rick Shea - Love and Desperation

Label: Tres Pescadoras Records
Format: CD
Convincing new album from veteran country singer-songwriter Rick Shea which finds him on top of his game and undeterred by Covid restrictions using remote recording techniques with his band


Rick Shea has been around for some time and this is his twelfth offering. The veteran singer-songwriter who plays guitars, dobro and mandolin set about this latest album before Covid put a stop to proceedings. Shea then went digital with his band members to complete the work. Shea is probably defined as a roots/Americana artist but he slips in somewhere between classic country and outlaw due to his bluesy licks and twangy country voice which at times feels very familiar. The whole set swings along nicely with some tasty squeezebox on Al Ferrier’s classic 'Blues Stop Knockin’ At My Door', while Shea’s picking prowess comes to the fore on a rather magnificent bluesy instrumental 'Mystic Canyon' which has you reaching for an ice cold Budweiser. Despite the cut and paste method of recording. 'Love and Desperation' comes together well without really treading any new ground. He writes a meaningful love song as you might expect. 'A Tender Hearted Love' is a love letter to Mrs Shea. All in all a mature and cultured American country blues record that without tearing it up trips along quite nicely. Shea’s vocal work is warm and honest on these recordings. and you sense that the man’s years of experience stand him in good stead. I suspect if you wandered into a bar somewhere and Rick was playing you would not want to leave. If country music is your thing this will not disappoint.

Track Listing:-

1 Blues Stop Knockin at My Door
2 Blues at Midnight
3 Down at the Bar at Gypsy Sallyʼs
4 Love & Desperation
5 She Sang of the Earth
6 Big Rain is Cominʼ Mama
7 A Tenderhearted Love
8 Juanita (Why Are You so Mean)
9 The Worlds Gone Crazy
10 Nashville Blues
11 Mystic Canyon
12 Texas Lawyer

Post A Comment

Check box to submit