Marina - Ancient Dreams in a Modern Land (Deluxe Edition)

  by Zena Grieg

published: 18 / 1 / 2022

Marina - Ancient Dreams in a Modern Land (Deluxe Edition)

Label: Atlantic
Format: CD
Appealing combination of the political with the personal on surprising and enjoyable fifth album from Welsh singer-songwriter Marina which originally released last year has now come out in a deluxe edition


The Welsh singer-songwriter Marina Diamandis, formerly Marina and the Diamonds, has just released a deluxe edition of her fifth album, whose sales were hampered previously by her inability to tour during the pandemic. This new edition of ‘Ancient Dreams in a Modern Land’ has five additional tracks, marking a move for Marina, who topped the UK charts in 2012 with the pop song ‘Electra’, towards a novel blend of choral electronic music, an intriguing re-invention ahead of a planned UK tour in May 22. Co-produced with James Flannigan, who worked with her on her last album, and Jennifer Decilveo (Beth Ditto, Bat for Lashes), ‘Ancient Dreams in a Modern Land’ is a mix of danceable songs and slow, emotional piano-driven ballads, with themes ranging across racism, misogyny, the brutality of capitalism, personal heartache and non-compliance in the face of convention, a collection showcasing Marina’s considerable vocal dynamism. Songs to look out for in this 15-track album include: the disco-pop title track with its defiant lyrics: “You don’t have to be like everybody else/You don’t have to fit into the norm/You are not here to conform”; the single, piano ballad ‘Happy Loner’ about the need to make your own way in life; ‘Venus Fly Trap’ with its propelling drumbeat and unflinching lyrics: “They’ll shame you, blame you/…Take away your rights/Pacify you with their lies…./Why be a wallflower when you can be a Venus fly trap?”; the bouncy, 80s Euro-pop inspired ‘New America’ where Marina takes aim viscerally against white American privilege: “You got a white picket fence and your dad’s got a gun/And when you see the police there’s no reason to run”; the straight-talking, catchy ‘I Love You But I Love Me More” about the end of a relationship; the dramatic sparse ballad ‘Goodbye’; the satirical Hollywood-located eco-song ‘Pink Convertible’; and the feminist ‘Free Woman’ with its hypnotic sound and resilient lyrics: “We’ll’ never let go/Of our freedom and our hope/You’ll never extinguish me/’Cause I’m a free woman.” Quirky, idiosyncratic, this forthright musician finely balances the political with the personal in this surprising and enjoyable album

Track Listing:-

1 Ancient Dreams In A Modern Land
2 Venus Fly Trap
3 Man's World
4 Purge The Poison
5 Highly Emotional People
6 New America
7 Pandora's Box
8 I Love You But I Love Me More
9 Flowers
10 Goodbye
11 Happy Loner
12 Pink Convertible
13 Free Woman
14 Venus Fly Trap (Demo Version)
15 Ancient Dreams In A Modern Land (Demo Version)

Band Links:-

Play in YouTube:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

Check box to submit