Paper Tiger - Laptop Suntan

  by Jamie Rowland

published: 18 / 12 / 2013

Paper Tiger - Laptop Suntan

Label: Wah Wah 45s
Format: CD
Versatile combination of instrumental tracks and rap numbers on debut album from Leeds-based hip-hop outfit, Paper Tiger


‘Laptop Suntan’ is the debut album from Leeds-based hip-hop outfit Paper Tiger. The six-piece have a reputation as a thrilling live band, and their releases so far have lead to their collaborating and playing with the likes of Foreign Beggars, Archie Pelago and Daedelus (the latter’s influence on Paper Tiger’s sound is obvious, particularly on tracks like ‘The Sting’, which reminded me of Daedelus’ song ‘Girls’ from 2003). The album is a mix of instrumental tracks and raps, and while the lyrics are clever, often witty and delivered with confidence, for me the record is most engaging and interesting for its production. There’s a great mix of style and influence on the album; opener ‘Gundam Bling’ has an early 90s, West Coast flavour to it, while ‘Crossover’ has more in common with contemporaries like Gold Panda. This is a, largely enjoyable record, perhaps released at the wrong time of year (it seems like it should have been out for the summer). The production is experimental, eclectic and – perhaps most importantly – you can groove to it (not something a middle-class white boy from Kent should ever really say, but I think I get away with it when it’s written down – maybe?). It’s a shame for me that the vocals often don’t match the quality of the music; they’re just not strong enough to match up with the production. Judging by their live reputation, this can’t be as much of an issue when they are playing shows; they just need to capture more of that energy on record, otherwise it’s hard to commit to a full album of their songs. I’m looking forward to hearing what they do next, anyway.

Track Listing:-

1 Gundam Bling
2 The Sting (feat. Homeboy Sandman)
3 You're Here, I'm There
4 Air
5 Treasure Town
6 Irresistible (feat. Sabira Jade)
7 Crossover
8 David Starkey (feat. King Kaio
9 Got Your Number
10 Expensive Samurai
11 Drift
12 Silfra
13 Make It Through
14 ...We Made It

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

Check box to submit